Things I can do instead of writing my thesis (a comprehensive list to refer to whenever I find myself actually tempted to work on it):

-Check facebook.

-Clean ALL OF THE THINGS.  Like the fan for the stove.  And between the couch pillows.  And that stain in the bathroom that looks like a stain but is really some sort of mark that won’t come out even with bleach.  (But you wouldn’t know it by just looking at it.  Maybe I should make a sign for guests?)

-Make a bathroom sign acknowledging stain is permanent, but has been sterilized and is not a health threat.

-Check facebook.  Check G+, even though no one uses it.  Check twitter, even though I don’t have twitter.

-Learn a foreign language.  Like French.  Oui, bonjour.

-Organize my things.  Such as my cookbooks in order of country of origin/type of cuisine.  But where would Joy of Cooking go?!?  (This could take at least 30 minutes of careful contemplation.)

-Check facebook again.  Update status about writing my thesis and how grad school sucks.  Wait patiently for friends to offer sympathetic and encouraging remarks.

-Stare at inanimate objects for a while in quiet contemplation of life (…also, I may still be waiting for more replies on facebook).

-Sigh.  A lot.

-Debate opening files for thesis even though it will depress the heck out of me.  But then…

-Cell phone rings!!!  Answer phone excitedly.

-Explain to my Dad what internet memes are.  This is an ongoing project that has already yielded remarkable results, such as text messages beginning with “Socially awkward penguin…”

-Get guilted by father to work on thesis.

-Write this list and then post it for the world wide web to see and be amazed by it. (Aka me.  Maybe the boyfriend if I bug him enough to read it.  But then he might get the idea that I’m procrastinating on my thesis.)

This entry was posted in An exercise in procrastination, Likely only amusing to me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

