Me and my computer: a whole new level of codependency

I may have to revise my earlier post when I tried to divide my life up in pie-like proportions.  I’m not one to ruin a perfectly good pie (chart), so instead I’ve drawn a little doodle, illustrating my life of late.

Yes, I am dorky enough to have signed it in the bottom. (Maybe because there was slightly more effort put into this compared to my usual stick-figure doodles. Not that it really shows.)

I suppose it’s slightly false advertising.  Although I do have an old school desktop computer at the lab, I’ve been spending most of my time hunched over my laptop, S-Club.  Yes, I named my laptop after an early 2000s British pop band.  S-Club has been attached to me everywhere of late.  It’s small and light enough to carry with me in my quasi-backpack.  It’s with me in the kitchen as I cook.  At night, it lives tucked in next to me by my bedside, in case I wake up and can’t fall asleep (because screw counting sheep – if you want to pass out, try your hand at some hard-core scientific referencing).  I’ve even been guilty of taking S-Club with me into the washroom.  What?  Am I the only one who gets bored brushing their teeth?  I can’t be the only one doing that, right?

Anyway, I think it’s all just symptomatic of how S-Club and I have developed an unhealthy relationship of late.  As such, I think it’s time for me and my computer to take a break from each other.

Except I need to finish submitting my thesis first.  Maybe a typewriter is the way to go…?

This entry was posted in An exercise in procrastination, doodles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me and my computer: a whole new level of codependency

  1. That’s the thing with unhealthy partners, they make it so you NEED them – just to finish your thesis!

Leave a Reply

