Sailing in the British Virgin Islands – Day 7

This is day 7 (my last day!) of my trip journal of sailing for a week in the British Virgin Islands.  For an introduction and day 1, please click here.

DCIM100GOPRO

Day 7: Our last day, mooring next to Beef Island airport

In the morning, the boyfriend and I took a taxi to Loblolly beach on the other side of Anegada.  We got there pretty early, around 9:30am, so we practically had the place to ourselves.  We took turns snorkeling and both saw a large school of white, almost silver, fish.  There were likely thousands of them, swimming in the coral reef.  Also nearby, there was a large predator-fish, stalking the school.  At first, I thought it was a shark, but it was likely just a really big fish.  A really, really big fish that might like the taste of human flesh?  I admit, I got out of there pretty quickly even though it was a completely irrational fear on my part.

We left Anegada around noon for Trellus Bay, which ended up being a very convenient mooring.  This was the only place where we had absolutely no problems with the mooring buoy (it’s always the last day, isn’t it?).  More importantly, the anchorage was right next to Beef Island airport.  We did our best to help my parents consume the leftover mustard and wine, and stayed up late looking at a bright starry night and soaking up the warmth that we would be missing when we went back to Canada the next day.

The next morning, my father took my boyfriend and I ashore on the dinghy with our luggage.  We only had to walk 5 minutes, and we were at the airport, on our way home.

I am so thankful for this experience and my family for being awesome.  Writing about it has let me relive the best moments, and remind me that not everyone gets to see sea turtles and sail to exotic locations.  So, yeah, that was my trip to BVI.  I give you permission to be jealous, ‘cause let’s face it, it was pretty awesome.

I'm on a boat!

The end!

This entry was posted in My travel journal, Slightly more serious than most posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sailing in the British Virgin Islands – Day 7

  1. Pingback: Sailing in the British Virgin Islands – Day 6 | in lost lands

Leave a Reply

